FK in Google docs

Discussion, questions and support.

FK in Google docs

PostPosted by tpha@plen.ku.dk » Tue Jul 25, 2017 2:39 pm

I am a beginner in this .. but got started in order to use FastKeys for getting latin species names formatted in italic into a text easily, through the text expander.

I can get it to work in MS word, but in Google docs it only works if i use plain text. This is annoying as there seems to be no other way of substituting phrases with italic in that environment.
If i define a rich text expansion (eg. bv for B. vulgaris, it seems that the text is entered into the document but erased again immediately, so fast that i cannot see what is happening. If i do the same with plain text it works fine, but i will then need to do a series of search/replace afterwards to change all the entries to italic...

What is wrong? is it a setting in googl docs i need to change to allow entry of rtf text? Or can i do something to get it to work in FK?

Many thanks in advance !

Thure

Re: FK in Google docs

PostPosted by Tom » Wed Jul 26, 2017 8:02 am

Could you try increasing Paste Delay in Preferences/Text Expander/Advanced and see if it helps?

PostPosted by tpha@plen.ku.dk » Thu Jul 27, 2017 8:09 am

Increasing paste delay does not work - but if I select the "use clipboard for rich text" (in advanced text expander preferences) it inserts the text i want - but this time with no formatting - even though i have formatted the substitute text in RTF ??

Other suggestions are most welcome :-)

PostPosted by Tom » Thu Jul 27, 2017 9:36 am

For "Use clipboard for rich text" option to work, you need to enter your individual substitute definition again and save it. Let me know if it works.

PostPosted by tpha@plen.ku.dk » Fri Jul 28, 2017 7:55 am

unfortunately it doesnt - i get the substitution but with no formatting...